found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Fêted and fed

After a weekend of Valentine’s and birthday celebrations, I’m feeling especially adored. Not to mention overfed – for you know the way to my heart is through my stomach!

The indulgences began with dinner Thursday night with a friend at a new restaurant in town, Coup d’Etat, Launched by some of the chefs behind one of my favorite spots, Borough, The food at the Coup d’Etat is a little more relaxed, but just as well thought out and equally delectable. We ordered about 8 starters and side dishes to share so we could try as much as possible. Their pastas were big winners: the squash agnolotti and the parmesan truffle gnocchi were tender but with satisfying bite and insanely rich flavors.

Personally, I have little interest in Valentine’s Day. Probably because it’s so close to my birthday and we already have an anniversary, so what am I supposed to do with this day? Friday I did sneak in a pre-birthday lunch with the ladies: my mom, sister, and niece, at Zen Box Izakaya — kimchi ramen, yum! Good thing too, because through convenience and circumstance, our family ended up at McDonald’s for Valentine’s dinner…queue Ella crooning Isn’t It Romantic? 😉

20140216-223948.jpg{Cookies and Valentine bags, and dear husby treated me to Lake Champlain chocolates}

Since my birthday was Sunday, hubs took me to dinner at Butcher and the Boar Saturday night. I’ve been there before, but this time, my eyes were bigger than my stomach and had to call it quits after four courses and two gin-champagne cocktails. Didn’t even have room for dessert – a first for everything.

20140216-224036.jpg{Charcuterie at Butcher and the Boar, Valentine’s bubbly at home post-McD’s, birthday cake courtesy of the Mr. and Queen of Cakes, and grilled oysters at Coup d’Etat}

But one of the best parts of my birthday was how cute the whole family was about making me feel special. Our youngest probably planted 50 kisses on me today alone, and wished me “happy birthday” nearly as many times! The card Evie made me was adorable, and Lauren picked out some pretty spring flowers for me herself. Dear husby always takes the time to do something nice – sending me off to tennis and gifting me a scarf I’d been longing for and cake from one of my favorite places. So there’s much to be happy about as I embark on the last year of my 30’s…even if writing that sentence isn’t one of them (at least I have a whole year to adjust to the idea of turning 40 next year)!

20140216-224007.jpg{Glad she signed the last name, in case there was any doubt she’s my kid}

20140216-224025.jpg{Lightweight silk/wool scarf from hubs – in the hopes for warm weather at some point!}

2 comments on “Fêted and fed

  1. Wendy
    February 17, 2014

    Love hearing the highlights Carrie!!

    • found not lost
      February 19, 2014

      Thanks Wendy, it was a nice weekend and def recommend you try Coup d’Etat…though you ought to get to the new Travail first if you haven’t. 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2014 by in personal, restaurants and tagged , , , , .
