found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Work it out

Lots of stuff to work out these days. For one, my beaten down, flabby body! I’m not a super active person, wish I were, but it’s one of those things that seems to fall to the bottom of the list. I do make time for tennis drills weekly, which I love. I picked up the sport just a year and a half ago, but quickly got addicted to the sport and love the challenge. However, since playing just once a week doesn’t exactly keep me in tip-top physical condition, I guess I was just an injury waiting to happen. So, back in April I was playing tennis and herniated a disc in my back. Yikes!  That sounds like an old people problem. And it sure as heck felt like one. I was totally laid up for a couple of days, had to go on a steroid treatment, and do physical therapy. That also meant five weeks off from tennis. Argh!

Top that off with the end of our fiscal year at work (crazy rush to get projects wrapped and plans for the new fiscal launched), and the end of the school year for my kiddos (programs, recitals, graduations, etc.) and you’ve got one physically and mentally drained person.

No tennis. Limited physical activity. Lots of late nights working. Lots of binge eating junk food. Scheduling stress. Calgon! Take me away!!

That feeling’s been building up, so last week…this happened:

20130522-224658.jpg{Retail therapy done right, new shoes from Nordstrom & J. Crew}

And this:

20130522-092929.jpg{Blueprint & Suja juices, part of a juice cleanse, now available at Whole Foods}

The good news? I’m back on the courts, for one. Even better? Here comes the extra-long weekend, and our family summer vacation isn’t far off either. Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in personal and tagged , , , , .
