found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Time flies…

When you’re having fun…or, when your personal and professional calendars both decide to get full-up at the exact same time. Aargh! Worlds colliding!

I know I’ve been neglecting the blog these past few weeks. To be honest, by the end of the day, when I would typically find time to write, I’ve just been too wiped out to even conjure up any coherent thoughts. Since we returned from California at the end of February I’ve been running at high speed on all fronts it seems. And if you read regularly at all, you know I usually have way more of an easy-going “stop and smell the roses” attitude. I’m passionate about my work and love being a mom, but really try not to get caught up in the “super-mom-do-it-all” mentality, so this last month I’ve definitely been feeling a little off from where I want to be operating.

The one thing that I did get to pause to enjoy these last few weeks was our younger daughter’s fifth birthday the first week of March. It is a pretty big deal as she’s preparing to head off to full-day kindergarten in the fall. A good reminder to me to slow down while I still have her around, because I know from my first grade daughter how little we actually get to just “hang out” once they get into grade school.

20130315-004710.jpg
{her prized Lalaloopsy cake, she also put in the special request for rainbows and balloons}

I found this little birthday note that our first-grader made for her little sis… Really made me pause to think what big girls they are becoming and how sweet they can be with each other (when they’re not fighting like cats and dogs!)

20130315-004916.jpg
{definitely saving this one for their teen years when they’re at each other’s throats}

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2013 by in kids/family, personal and tagged .
