found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Detoxed and loving it!

I just concluded my first juice cleanse this week, using a 3-day plan from The Juice Works here in the Twin Cities. It actually turned into almost a four day cleanse because I felt so good yesterday and this morning that I didn’t want to start transitioning!

Waking up to clearer skin, a flatter belly, and a feeling of overall lightness and energy was really rewarding. Just a week ago my skin felt dehydrated and dull, I felt bloated and flabby, and had that sort of numb, zombie-like sense about what I was putting into my body (which was anything and everything, as you can see here). The detox made me way more aware of how my body felt and clearly highlighted times of the day when I am prone to eat mindlessly.

My co-workers were very curious about the whole thing, and they were shocked that I was not feeling starved or horrible. Yes, on Day 2 I did get an annoying headache by the afternoon, but it wasn’t awful. I actually went to my tennis drill and played for 90 minutes with no lack of energy! I was afraid I might be light-headed, as I can be playing on an empty stomach. But, I think that is because normally I’m “crashing”, coming down from caffeine and carbs, whereas this time I was not.

I will definitely do this again, and strongly recommend trying this if you’re the least bit curious. Even if some argue the benefits are imagined, you’ll never know unless you try it.  And, there is a huge rush knowing that you set a goal, and pushed through the temptations and headaches to reach it (when they busted out the chips and cookies at work Wednesday I thought I was a goner!). It gives me hope that I can retain a few healthier eating habits out of this experiment. For one, I’m going to limit my coffee and Diet Coke intake. I used to drink both almost daily. Think of the $$ I’ll save too!

To celebrate my successful detox I decided to try out Tao Natural Foods Cafe for lunch with my 4-year-old. In Uptown, Minneapolis, it’s a cozy and friendly spot with lots of tasty vegan, gluten-free, and whole food options. Plus, a juice bar, so I could get my fix of green juice. YES, you heard it, I actually got another green juice (kale, cucumber, celery, and parsley), to help with the transition.

image{Juice Bar at Tao Natural Foods}

image{A yummy Moroccan soup with chick peas, kale, and squash}

image{And avocado, black bean, and tomato brown rice bowl – delish!}

The food was tasty and I felt healthier just eating it, and full. We actually ended up taking home a lot because I was instructed not to eat too much solid food or grains first day off the cleanse.

P.S. Parents, my daughter had the kids menu veggie brown rice bowl, and actually LOVED it, ate the cabbage, broccoli, and carrots. She thought the soup was a little spicy (it wasn’t, but she’s 4) so I scooped out the chick peas and she gobbled them up – that was the first time she ever had them and said she liked them a lot. Maybe there’s hope for her yet!

7 comments on “Detoxed and loving it!

  1. Sherri Symson
    January 25, 2013

    congrats on completing your juice cleanse – not an easy task, i’m sure!! i’m intrigued…..

  2. found not lost
    January 25, 2013

    Thanks Sherri! You should definitely investigate. There’s a place that will ship to you that has yummy looking juices, Cooler Cleanse. Check them out, keep me posted if you try one.

  3. Jill
    January 25, 2013

    Hey Carrie!, I’ve been drinking “Green Juice” myself the last couple of months, usually as a snack when I get home from work, it fills me up and then I don’t overeat at dinner. If you enjoy it I highly recommend getting a juicer. I use mine at least once a day. I clean it right after I juice and it takes less than 10 min to prepare the veggies, juice and clean the juicer.It is really amazing the amount of veggies I “drink” in a week!

    • found not lost
      January 25, 2013

      Hi Jill! It is great, isn’t it? I had other friends who swore by it, but I didn’t really get it ’til I did this. I was thinking about getting a juicer, but which one? What do you have & would you recommend it? I think it would be a great way to get in more of the good stuff, and even the kids might like it.

      • Jill
        January 26, 2013

        I have a Breville Ikon Juice Fountain, it has 5 speeds so you can adjust depending on fruit/veggie firmness.It is kind of a middle of the road juicer, best prices I found were on Amazon. I just juice and then right away (so nothing has time to dry and get sticky) rinse the parts with hot water and set them on the counter to dry until next time I juice. Yes, you have to scrub the mesh juice separator, but again cleaning the whole thing takes like 5 min. I wash everything more thoroughly once a week with soap when I have more time on the weekends. I have no complaints so far with the juicer, I;ve only had it about 2 months, but I use it at least once a day. I also will sometimes use an immersion blender to mix in almond milk or a banana to make a smoothie. The fun thing is you can play around flavors and find new things you like. Your kids will definitely find flavors they like! I go to Sams to get certain fruits and veggies in bigger quantities cheaper!

      • Jill
        January 26, 2013

        Just looked at the side of my juicer, I guess it is the Breville Ikon Multi-speed Juice Fountain. One other tip I got from someone else is to line the pulp chamber with a plastic bag (either a veggie bag or grocery bag) and it makes clean up quicker!

      • found not lost
        January 26, 2013

        Ooh, this is so helpful! I’m convinced, I definitely want to get one now. I was most concerned about the clean-up hassle, etc., but your ideas make it sound manageable. Thanks for the advice and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2013 by in adventures, food and tagged , , , , , , .
