found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Test driving a juice cleanse

Been feeling sluggish since the holidays kicked off (and I mean Thanksgiving, not Christmas). Too much of everything — coffee, bakery goodies, red meat, frozen yogurt, wine, champagne, G&Ts, and foods like this:

image{Beef Wellington on Christmas Day}

wpid-IMG_20130103_225642.jpg{Treat from “Santa” and a few sips of amazing port}

image{Rack of lamb Persillade last week for dinner}

Combined with too little exercise, sleep, facials, water, or anything else that might help my body cope with all I dumped on it, and you’re left feeling dehydrated, slow, and yeah, I’ll say it, flabby. I don’t do diets, but I realize at this point I just need a jump-start into some healthier habits, which leads me to my first attempt at a juice cleanse.

I know the research doesn’t bear out any scientific benefits to juice cleanses. But I also know that a few years ago when I did a 5-day elimination cleanse (vegan, no gluten, no sugar, no caffeine or alcohol) I felt refreshed, re-energized, and healthier than I had in years. The trouble with that cleanse was the work and meal prep — it became a huge inconvenience because I still had to cook regular meals for my family, and then figure out some bizarre tempeh, kale, almond milk dish for myself.

Hence, the appeal of the juice cleanse is its convenience. Six juices a day all pre-made and delivered to my door for a 3-day cleanse. I can still cook for the family, but my “meals” will be taken care of. I’d heard about cleanses like BluePrint and Cooler Cleanse years ago, but wasn’t interested in paying almost $100 just to have the juice shipped. Fortunately, there’s a local option in the Twin Cities now called The Juice Works, so I’m ready to take the plunge!

However, based on some things I’ve read, I’ll supplement the juices with some solid veggies like avocados and kale, and nuts like a few handfuls of raw almonds. It may take the edge off some of the side effects of juicing without diminishing the expected benefits of ditching my regular diet heavy in carbs, refined sugars, and animal fats.

So starting in two days, this Tuesday, it’s farewell to this:

wpid-IMG_20130118_195906.jpg{Flourless chocolate cake, baked up two days ago on a whim}

And hello to this:

Will be sure to report on the process next week when I get started, wish me luck!

One comment on “Test driving a juice cleanse

  1. Lucy
    January 21, 2013

    Food Juices always are good, we have to be very careful with what eat, time time we also need to do a diet, to detox our body from many toxins. A good alternative for this is Purifyne. I always said visit your nutritionist first. But recommending Purifyne is a good option because they are 100% nautral.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2013 by in adventures, food and tagged , , , .
