found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Bring it on, 2013!

Champers! Not just for #NYE{photo from kara414 via reasonstobreathe}

Today was the last day of my 12-day break from the routine of work for my husby and me, school and activities for the kids, and the normal pace of life. I hope you were able to take some time away from your routines too to enjoy the holidays and usher in the new year!

Personally, I feel more re-energized by the time at home with family than I have in a long time. Though during this time we had two Christmas celebrations, house guests (bro-in-law, his wife, 3-yr-old, 4-month-old, and little doggy!), family visits (my two brothers hailing from afar in Alaska and Los Angeles), dinner parties, and play dates — we still found time to lounge in our PJ’s with the kids, have family movie nights, eat at some of our favorite restaurants, work on LEGO projects and art projects, read, play games, and reconnect.

I also had time to reflect on 2012, the eventful year it was, and think about the things I’m looking forward to this year.

My 2012 highlight reel includes: the successful completion of our home remodel, an amazing family vacation/reunion in Hawaii, a few weekend getaways with good friends and one with hubs as well, an exciting new position for me at work and a challenging new job for my husband, retiring my 9-year-old car for a new “mom-mobile”, going to three concerts (more than I’ve been to in the last three YEARS), my younger daughter starting at a new pre-K program (that she loves!) and my older daughter starting first grade, an enlightening charitable giving challenge, passing the 200 blog post mark after over two years of writing, and a family road trip adventure to the country (Black Hills and Mount Rushmore) and then to the big city (New York). Phew!

On the horizon for 2013: very soon we’ve got a family trip to California to see my in-laws (hooray for escaping the cold!), we’ll also celebrate some big milestones this year – husby and I will celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, my mom-in-law turns 70, our younger daughter will be off to kindergarten, and we’re trying to get another family vacation/reunion planned but this year with my husband’s side of the family (Hawaii last year was with the clan on my side). But, as year after year proves out, we never fully know what the year will bring, so I try not to think too much about it and try instead to focus on enjoying every moment (or getting through it, if that’s what is called for) as it comes along.

Happy New Year to you and yours. May we all be blessed in 2013 with the ability to appreciate what we have, enjoy a sense of fulfillment from making a difference in the lives of those both known and unknown to us, find happiness in the relationships that are most important to us, and to have as much fun as possible while adventuring through another year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2013 by in kids/family, personal and tagged , , , .
