found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Keep the main thing the main thing

As I get older, I’m increasingly aware of the how many “grown up” people around me seem to survive life, rather than love it. It’s almost like  life is something to be endured. You hear it in the sighs in the elevator, the “it’s cool to complain” attitude, and the wishing for time to pass more quickly so that you can get to the weekend, get to a time when your kids aren’t so dependent, get to the next promotion, the next fill-in-the-blank that they think will be better. Sometimes you get the sense people are just gutting it out.

So, if you hadn’t guessed already, I do not feel this way.  And yeah, I do love the weekends, and look forward to vacations, and I love watching my kids become more independent, but I’m careful not to wish the time away, because it is already going too fast!

I recently read an interesting post from an even more interesting guy that gets at a lot of thoughts I’ve had about what it takes to build a life worth savoring.  He says it so well that I strongly encourage you to take five minutes to read it… I love his parting words, “keep the main thing the main thing”.  I try to practice this everyday, and it’s served me pretty well.  Seems whenever I don’t, life happens to drop a few hints to bring me back around to it.

http://thejonathanmacdonald.blogspot.com/2012/09/five-realisations.html

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2012 by in personal and tagged , , , .
