found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Month two of my giving challenge

It’s been a while, friends, but yeah, I’m still here. And yes, my challenge to get my spending in line with my values is still on! Happy to report that I’m showing improvement.  For the month of September I came in… drum roll please… a mere $21 over my allotted budget.  A big improvement from August, and an accomplishment about which I am feeling really good.

Here’s how it went down: The biggest single item expense this month was a dress from C’n’c Costume National that I found at one of my favorite shops, Grethen House in Edina.  I snagged it with their special sale price, making it too good to pass up!  What I did pass on was the 5 other awesome items I saw. This is where my “new leaf” has really helped.

-

 {doesn’t look like much, but super cute on, paired with black tights and booties}

The next largest expense was annoying, because it was a facial cleanser, moisturizer, etc. I am the worst packer, probably because I’m always doing it at midnight the night before a trip. At any rate, I was either washing my face for days with the hotel bar soap or picking up a decent cleanser in the hotel spa. I opted for the latter — I mean, it IS my face, and I sort of care what it looks like. Not a ton, but I didn’t want to break out like a teenager so I bit the bullet.

The rest of the month’s spending was frittered away on little treats like lattes or donuts with the kids, and a lunch at our health club. Still room to improve here, and I’ve noticed some weeks are better than others.

Anyhow, the REALLY exciting thing is I got to choose another awesome organization to donate funds to, and it was not hard at all. I’d had this in mind, in fact, all along as I contemplated my challenge. WATCH is a non-profit organization that focuses on an area of need that I find especially troubling – domestic violence.  They were founded in 1992 with the mission to make the criminal justice system more effective and responsive in handling cases of violence, especially against women and children. This cause has personal meaning to me because for many years while living in Chicago I volunteered weekly as a crisis line counselor for a domestic violence hotline. The training I went through, the stories I heard from callers, and the impact of domestic violence on families that I witnessed first-hand are something I can never forget. So, when I learned that my friend Wendy was an active volunteer here at WATCH I knew I wanted to support the organization in some small way.

{WATCH volunteer training}

They are doing the important work of shining a bright light onto domestic violence cases and advocating for the victims. This is so, so needed, when you consider how hard it is for a victim of domestic violence to finally come forward, and then to try and navigate the justice system or to meet roadblocks, antiquated attitudes, or wrong-headed perceptions about victims that may exist.

So, despite September being pretty much a blur, I left the month on a high note feeling like I had done one good thing. And really, isn’t that all any of us can hope to accomplish?

P.S. If you’re interested, you can donate online here. Extra incentive to act now since the Pohlad Family Foundation will be matching all donations up to $250 through 10/12.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2012 by in personal and tagged , , , , , , , .
