found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Regrets, I’ve had a few…

And most of them are hanging around my closet!  Actually, I’m only half-joking, because in talking not long ago with some friends about what we might regret from our past, I realized I’ve either been pretty lucky or I’m not very introspective, because I’d say I have very few.  It seems to me that things have a way of working themselves out, and if they don’t, well, you hopefully learn something along the way… But I digress!

So what have I learned from the mistakes I’ve made that now reside in my closet?  Well, first let’s look…while changing out my summer wardrobe for the fall/winter season, I happened upon a few of them, staring me in the face. I’ve been unwilling to part with them in the hopes that I can somehow salvage these impulse buys that just didn’t make sense in my repertoire.

Photo

The sheer silk chiffon blouse from Equipment at left is beautiful… but I’ve yet to find a way to wear it because it’s too sheer for work without a cami (and I’m not sure I love how it looks with the layer underneath, maybe frumpy?) and it seems too “business like” to wear for a night out, even though it is sheer. It’s like a shirt residing in no-man’s land, neither here nor there.

The shirt at right was such a pretty color and had that nice draping that I thought it would work as a layering piece. But, it never totally lays right on me and the racer back is not my favorite either.

Then there are these doozies…

The jacket at left is silk with a sweatshirt like material trim. It’s cut almost like a robe, very flowy , longer in front and shorter in back. I’m not sure WHAT I was thinking when I bought it, because it does, indeed, look like pajamas.

The silk shirt at right is from Splendid, a brand I love. The color on this shirt also caught my eye, a bright poppy, and so pretty. But, this shirt is always rumpled. No matter how much I iron it, it looks like it was crumpled at the bottom of our hamper for days and then I just pulled it out and wore it.

Lessons:

  • Shop with a list, don’t impulse buy or get drawn in by “sales”. Look at what you own first and then make note of what is needed. I can tell you for a fact all 4 of these were impulse buys, and it pains me to think how much I wasted on them.
  • Consider the whole piece, not just the color, or the style, but actually the fit and feel, as well as care/maintenance the clothing requires and make sure you still want it.
  • If you can’t think of at least 5 times or places you’d wear it, and what you’d wear it with, then put it back. This would’ve spared me the funky printed sheer blouse, as well as the bathrobe jacket.
  • Do NOT cut the tags until you’ve tried something on at home WITH the items you wanted to pair it with. You may change your mind.
  • And if you do… don’t be lazy. Actually go to the store and return it!

Hope this helps as you make up your fall/winter shopping lists.  And now for your listening pleasure, because Ol’ Blue Eyes still sings it best…

P.S. Apologies, apologies for neglecting my blog for a while. Turns out a 4-day business trip overlapping back-to-school really don’t mix, I came back to lots of work on both the office and home front!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2012 by in fashion, shopping and tagged , , , .
