found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

A girly dressing room makeover

Since our remodel ended about a month ago we’ve been busy ordering furniture, hanging art, and oh, yeah, even enjoying our new space!  Though the kitchen/family room was the biggest project, there are many other little ones in the queue.

One of the first I’ve tackled is making over the small bedroom next to our master from what was mainly a storage room during our remodel into a fun and very girly dressing room! I started with an ultra-pink paint from Benjamin Moore (Peony) in a satin finish for a little more sheen than the usual eggshell finish.
image
I’m planning to add tangerine and navy as accent colors on the windows, rugs, throw pillows, etc. Grey and white are the neutrals (on couch and armoire, possibly in the rug) to help keep it from getting too crazy.  It is so cute, you can see that my girls were so excited they already wanted to have their little vanities moved into the room. As for me, still shopping for the right vanity. I like things like this:

{Love the mirrored vanities, and this one isn’t too “frilly”, but it IS too expensive!}

{This metal wrapped Parson’s desk from West Elm is a cool, more modern take, and definitely more within my budget}

We bought this great Hudson collection armoire for more than half off at the Room & Board furniture outlet, the grey wash and clean lines caught our eye.
image

Part of the purpose for the dressing room besides the vanity, lounge area, was to use the room as a second closet since our walk-in in the master isn’t that big.  Outfitting the dressing room with an armoire for handbags, costume jewelry, scarves, and other accessories was a great solution.
image

I even threw in a few pairs of shoes, overflow from my closet!
Then I had this idea to make a fabric covered board to display and store some of my necklaces on. As it was they were tangling in my crowded jewelry box and since I couldn’t quickly see everything I was forgetting about a few of them.

{I got a plain cork board, spray painted the frame navy, and picked out this beautiful printed fabric}

A DIY project? Maybe I’ve been on Pinterest too much! But it turned out great and I even hung a few of the necklaces my daughters made for me on it…that made my 6-year-old ecstatic.

And lastly, lighting… ah yes, one by one we are replacing the “boob lights” (see left) currently in almost every room of our home, with lights that have a bit more character and design appeal.

I’m thinking some fun options like these chandeliers:

{too fussy?}

{I like the mirrored finish, but is the shape boring?}

{too “Vegas”?}

{LOVE. Too expensive, again, darn it!}

Lots of options, and I know the right light will transform the room. In the meantime, I’m enjoying the cheery pink room and my handiwork so far.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2012 by in home and tagged , , , , , .
