found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Happy Mother’s Day!

To all you moms out there, hope you got to spend today doing whatever makes you happiest. I am out in Hudson, Wisconsin on the St. Croix relaxing with my family and celebrating Mother’s Day with my own mom!
image
It’s a beautiful sunny day, perfect for being on the water and taking this year’s inaugural boat ride.

image{My mom with my two kiddos and my dad on the boat}

I realize I appreciate my mom and my mom-in-law (for raising such a great son!) more than ever now that I know first hand what it means to be someone’s mother.  There is no one way to do it, and many of the littlest decisions can seem fraught with pitfalls, second-guessing, or yes, even the dreaded mom-guilt (I try like crazy to avoid that last bit). And oh! The saint-like patience required. That’s probably the toughest one for me. Still working on it. The risk of self-sacrifice to the point of losing your own identity beyond mom (well, my own selfish nature seems to have some upside, safeguarding me from this one).

Ah, but the rewards are great, and they are many…or in my case, two:
image
{Our oldest – loving, thoughtful, and conscientious}
image
{Our youngest – silly, full of energy, and independent}

And if you remember, I mentioned that they made and bought some gifts for me, well look how sweet they were:

{Ebelskiver and whoopie pie gear, and the best cards and bookmark ever made}

Being their mom and using the tricks of the trade that my own mom taught me has been the best, sometimes most surreal, amazing, and craziest adventure ever.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2012 by in kids/family and tagged , , .
