found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Lipstick review: department store or Target store?

A girl’s beauty product choices are very personal, and perhaps telling. That is, if you splurge on the expensive hair treatments promising a crown of silken luster, you are probably also the kind of person who would take the time to self-administer a full-on blow out at home.  If you opt for the drugstore variety hair care, especially the 2-in-1 sorts, you likely put a lot less stock in your good and bad hair days (Pantene Pro-V is my 2-in-1 of choice, and I’m pretty sure if you know me my inattention to my hair is probably no surprise).

But, I have long been a lover of the designer cosmetic brands. As a teenager I began dabbling with Clinique and Estee Lauder, coveting the lovely scents, rich pigments, and subtle sheen of the lipsticks, glosses, blushes, and shadows that I saw on my mom’s vanity growing up.  After much experimentation my interest in anything beyond lipsticks and glosses waned significantly post-kids (seriously, if I don’t have time for a separate conditioner, this means I barely have time for actual make-up).  A touch of color on my lips and cheeks is just enough to keep me from looking lifeless or like I haven’t slept enough – which I usually haven’t.

I do know that a few of the same major manufacturers actually produce most of the lipsticks, both high and low-end. But the ingredients differ just enough and don’t even get me started on the packaging. I am so in love with the YSL Volupte Sheer Candy package (far left below), its substantial metal casing, satisfying click upon closure, and luminescent gold-adorned band across the middle.  The flimsy, ill-closing plastic tubes from most mass brands just leave me cold.

image

{left to right: YSL, Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in 2 colors, and Chanel Rouge Coco Shine}

That said, something in the new Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter print ads really got me curious… had I missed out on some revolutionary new developments in the cosmetics aisle of Target? “Softer, smoother, more hydrated”? Even the name “lip butter” — well that is exactly how I’d describe the texture and feel of my YSL Volupte Sheer Candy or my Chanel Coco Shine.

I was intrigued enough that on my next visit to Target I stopped to pick up a tube in Candy Apple. It was $8, so a small risk if I didn’t like it. And the surprise was: the stuff really did feel like butter! It’s like a lip balm and lipstick mixed together, and went on feather light, with a just-right amount of pigment (though I did notice it bled a little more over time than my dept store brands).  I like that it has similar coverage to a lip gloss but without the stickiness or slipperiness.  I liked it so much in fact, that on my next Target visit I snagged another in “Peach Parfait”.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ll still indulge in my favorite Coco Shine even at $32, but the Revlon Lip Butter is definitely a new staple in my purse and it’s nice to mix it up!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2012 by in shopping and tagged , , , .
