found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

The new Jonathan Adler store, my “happy place”

Jonathan Adler has a point of view.  People either love it or hate it, but whichever group you’re in, it is certain you will feel something when you view his work.  I LOVE the man’s design aesthetic — it is so vibrant, cheery, retro, and yes, preppy but in a cool and modern way (not an old stuffy way).  For me, it would be hard to walk into his new store in the Uptown neighborhood of Minneapolis  (near American Apparel) and not feel my spirits lifted. The crisp colors, mix of textures and sheens, and interesting shapes are all arranged in such a cozy setting.

Here are a few shots from my visit the other day – and no – I didn’t find anything to bring home because I was making an appearance with my two girls in  tow, which seemed like a reckless decision given how many glass and mirrored surfaces and breakable vases, bowls, and dishes were within reach.

{love the chandelier hanging above}

{the rugs! the throws! the pillows!}

{bedroom set-up for the coolest kid on the block}

Given my love of all things Adler, you can imagine my sheer delight when a good friend brought me this gift the other day:

{love that there was no expense spared in the packaging – so special}

This juicy, citrus-scented candle is in a bright yellow glossy cup, and when I light the candle and take a deep breath, I’m in my happy place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in shopping and tagged , , , , , .
