found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Let there be light

Lighting is such an important part of your environment, it can be friend or foe — casting a flattering glow or harsh, aging shadows.  It helps you see, of course, but also adds an ambiance that no other single thing can do in quite the same way.  Not to mention the actual light fixture themselves can add that certain something or personality to a home. I’ve noticed that simple table lamps, pendant lights and sconces are often the difference between a home with thoughtful design and personal touches versus a spec home with homogenous, generic, builder-selected lights throughout.

So it’s no wonder I’m struggling so much in selecting our light fixtures. I finally settled on the pendants for over our kitchen island, from Edina store Que Sera. I picked two of the larger turquoise ones. I’ve had my eye on them for a long while.

But, the trickier one is for over the table in our informal dining area. I was looking at a really wide range of options…  any votes??

Uttermost burlap shade pendant: organic, simple, cool

Ralph Lauren Home chandelier: love the bulbs and metal non-chandelier chandelier.

Burnished silver chandelier: Pretty and curvaceous, but modern and not too  fussy.

Marbella pendant: from Serena & Lily, capiz tile, modern, elegant, but a little more earthy with the capiz.  Tied for my favorite with this one….

Eric Cohler pendant:  a shade pendant within the burnished brass frame, love the link chain.

You can see my dilemma… very different styles, each which could take you in another direction. My vision for the family room and casual eating area is to be modern and warm, and relaxed but in a polished way.  I haven’t chosen what table this light will be over, but imagine something  like this:Source: shopcandelabra.com via Carrie on Pinterest

Source: mecoxgardens.com via Carrie on Pinterest


5 comments on “Let there be light

  1. Wendy Brown
    December 8, 2011

    My fav is the last light by Eric Cohler. Either of the tables would look great with this one!! Nice selections CC.

  2. Nicole Black
    April 30, 2013

    I love the burnished silver chandelier. The only problem is I’d like to buy it for my home and there just isn’t enough info on it to locate it online. Can you help me out?

    • found not lost
      May 1, 2013

      Hi Nicole – I’m glad you liked it. I’m sorry, I couldn’t find it either, I checked to see but can’t remember and didn’t have anything on it. I guess that’s why I should add the links when I post. 😦

      • Nichol Black
        May 1, 2013

        It’s no problem. Thanks for checking and for getting back in touch with me.

        Sent from nichol.black

      • found not lost
        May 1, 2013

        Sure, and thanks for following my blog! if I am able to find it I’ll message you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2011 by in home and tagged , , , , .
