found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

80 degrees outside now, but I’m prepared for winter when it shows its nasty face!

Though we are enjoying a crazy beautiful fall, over 80 degrees here in October, it is no guarantee that in a week we won’t be passing through the 50’s on a rapid decline into freezing weather soon.  It was with that in mind that I had begun searching for a new winter coat months ago.

After struggling to find a good winter coat the last few years (it’s been probably five years since I’ve had a good coat that I loved),  I vowed I wouldn’t wait too long to find one this year and here are a few I checked out:

Short Bernice Coat from DVF. Love the color, typically like non-black or grey coats, in the past have had sky blue, ivory, camel, and navy. However, the proportions just weren’t right for me being only 5’1″, it would be too boxy and the labels a tad big. Also feeling a little light for a Minneapolis winter, probably fine for most other places though.

Maison Martin Margiela MM6 zipper coat  – looked cool, but not available in my size at the store.

J.Crew’s Plaza coat, also very chic, but I wasn’t in love with the double flap pockets on the one side and was also hoping to get a wool-cashmere blend (this one is 100% wool).

I finally arrived at the right decision at Grethen House, a wonderfully edited little boutique in downtown Edina which always stocks the latest and greatest from designers like Etoile Isabel Marant, Rick Owens, and Cut25 (by Yigal Azrouel).  I received the lottery-style scratch & win postcard for their annual fall sale and decided to try my luck. You have to wait ’til you get to the checkout counter to scratch, and then you find out if you got 10-50% off of your entire purchase. A fun sale and totally worth going in since you’re getting this season’s merchandise at a discount, potentially a big one!

Here’s what I ended up trying on and loving (@30% off no less!):

Seems plain at first, and don’t usually buy black coats. But this one had such an interesting semi-cocoon shape and design that I was won over.  Not surprising since this is from MM6 Maison Martin Margiela x Opening Ceremony.  The first of this type of partnership for Margiela. Look closer and you’ll see the layered sleeves. Also, it is 3 in one

Without the underlayer which has the longer sleeves and the lightweight jacket. Flattering three-quarters sleeves which would look great with long gloves.

The under-layer on its own. It has a very satiny feel and the cashmere-wool sleeves (which are the same material as the overcoat) add a very cool and unexpected appearance to this little jacket. I would totally wear this either open over a silk shell or sweater or closed and belted as here with a funky scarf around the neck.

What I loved about this piece, and MM6 in general, is that it’s different in an understated way and while it doesn’t scream “look at me!” it is certainly eye-catching. Most importantly, it is comfortable and practical (the lapel can actually “close” and button all the way to the top for those really cold days when you need extra layers). So, if you see me out smiling in the wintry weather you’ll know why, it’s obviously my new find, as after last year there’s no love lost between Jack Frost and me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2011 by in fashion and tagged , , , .
