found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Report from Chicago’s fashionable Magnificent Mile

As I mentioned in my last post about our family trip to Chicago, I did manage to sneak away for some shopping while the girls napped back at the hotel with their dad.  With time short, my objectives were clear and two-fold: (1) Scan last of the summer sales at designer boutiques for any too-good-to-be-true deals (2) Browse new fall collections to inspire my shopping list for the upcoming season.

Happy to report success in both areas, not shocking since Chicago’s Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile is really one of the premiere fashion mecca’s in the country, nay, the world! The area is one of the top ten in the world for offering high-end retail, restaurants, and hotels in a concentrated, but substantial, area.  First off, I stopped at the 900 North Michigan Shops, drawn in by some gorgeous fall coats in the MaxMara boutique window. The sales woman was quite pushy, insisting I try on a few: the one from the window was amazing, but too light for a winter coat (which is what I really need), perfect for fall though. It’s reversible, grey to camel with a funnel neck. Stunning!

I passed it by just because fall is such a limited season here I felt like I needed to wait and invest in a heavier winter coat instead. So it was off to Intermix, Barneys, Marc Jacobs (@MJ’s the salespeople were aloof and snooty, versus the other places where I felt welcome and the salespeople were very approachable, surprising), and CUSP (Neiman Marcus’ younger, hipper, boutique-concept store in Water Tower Place).  Here are a few of the things I saw that I loved.

@Intermix: Wedge booties by Chloe at left (my favorite!), middle boots by Rag & Bone, also super fun. They still have their summer sale on and I scored a great silk cotton blouse in poppy as well as a chic linen jacket from Rag & Bone, originally $350 for just $79!! It reminds me a lot of their Leigh Jacket I have from fall last year.

The Single cross-body bag from Marc Jacobs, comes in tons of colors, but I’m partial to either a nude (practical) or this metallic purple (fun for a smaller bag like this).

@ CUSP: Great Marc by Marc Jacobs cross-body, eye-catching and fun, snake-like look but fabric, not leather, so a good price point <$200.

@ Barneys: this singular necklace from Fallon (not Fenton, as the bag says, but its diffusion line). Have been looking for something like this for a while. Perfect to freshen up stuff in my closet from falls and winters past. Had to have it. Especially when I saw how great it looked with THIS — picture it worn with dark jeans, black pencil skirt, cognac leather A-line skirt, actually, almost anything. Photo doesn’t do the sweater justice (from a brand I know little about, L’Agence, in an exclusive for Barneys CO-OP), it has this awesome texture and the coppery metallic bit is almost like painted into the nubby fabric.

Also @Barneys, this great dress from Etoile Isabel Marant, a cotton wool melange knit that would be so great for work with black tights and patent pumps or flat riding boots. Thankfully someone saved me from myself and snagged the last one in my size right after I eyed it.

And last, but not least, this leather and knit dress from Rag & Bone, I love leather shift dresses and have yet to buy one. I tried this one on for fun and it was so cute, not as short on me as shown on this leggy model though! Seriously, it was like just above the knee. I’ve been on a dress kick and actually should be looking for more pants and that elusive winter coat…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2011 by in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
