found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

NY Fashion Week 2011 Kicks Off

Wishing I were there. Definitely on my list of things to do at some point. I just wonder about the experience, is it really as interesting, glamorous, and fun as they make it look? Oh, I’m sure it is, and even if it isn’t, I want to see for myself.

For now, I have to settle for fishing around online for video and pics of the runway shows. With Day 1 now complete, I took a look at Vena Cava, BCBG Max Azria, Richard Chai Love, Jenni Kayne, Nicholas K, and Luca Luca.  My overall reaction to the collections, kind of uneven. And I’m a big fan of several of those designers, but the trend with SO many layers and that 70’s vibe, I’m not feeling it.  Particularly, BCBG Max Azria had a layered hanky/tablecloth thing going that I didn’t care for, though I did like two of the looks I found.

Also, Vena Cava’s maxi skirts, high-waisted pants, and “interesting” styling was not something I could relate to. Especially this one…

Polka Dots.  Zubaz-esque pants. Beret. Styling. Just wrong. It’s reminiscent of a French mime, which cannot be a good thing.

I did like a lot of the Richard Chai Love show, but some of it was a bit too “grunge” for me. But, this look is perfection to me. Love it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2011 by in fashion and tagged , , .
