found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

Super cute swimwear that flatters

Maybe you don’t think swimsuit shopping is a dreadful experience, but I hadn’t bought one in five years so you can believe I was filled with dread.  To make matters worse, my husband suggested we all go shopping together (i.e., with our two kids) because there were several things we needed to get in preparation for our vacation. Right. Clearly, the man had no idea; as if swimsuit shopping isn’t hard enough, let alone with a 3-year-old in your dressing room. Failure was not an option on this swimsuit-finding mission, as we were within the week of our trip — procrastinate much? 

Ten minutes in I emerged from the dressing room empty-handed and demoralized. And I have to say, I don’t think I have a lot of “body issues”. Considering my body has been healthy, helped me bear two children without issue, and seems more forgiving of an over-indulgence in baked goods than should be expected, I cannot harbor ill will towards it. Besides, given my lack of attention to it, I’m sure it could (and should) be so much worse looking than it is! That said, a person’s acceptance only goes so far under the fluorescent lights in the three-way mirror.

Thankfully, Nordstroms came to the rescue.  Six suits and another ten minutes later, I ended up buying two, both from Robin Piccone, a brand I’d never heard of before, but they were cut in a way that was flattering and not too revealing, but not frumpy. Here they are:

With two suits I’m sure I can make it at LEAST another five years before I need to swimsuit shop again. Mission accomplished.

One comment on “Super cute swimwear that flatters

  1. Jane
    January 30, 2011

    I hope you are having a great time on your trip. Next time, you should go to Nani Nalu on 50th & France. Make an appointment– they are SUPER helpful. Cute swimsuits by the way!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2011 by in shopping and tagged , , .
