found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

“Fashions fade, style is eternal”

I was thinking about my last post and that silly picture of the fur head-dress.  Who would wear that?  It reminded me of the quote above that I once read from one of the greatest French fashion designers of our time, Yves Saint Laurent. A fitting statement from the man who was the first to put the tuxedo squarely in the feminine sphere of fashion, and it hasn’t left yet.  Reinterpreted decade after decade, it’s not a trend, but rather a fixture in modern fashion design (as evidenced by the two great jackets featured here).

From Michael Kors                                                From Rag & Bone

I do love fashion; there’s something of an escapist quality to high fashion because it’s so artistic and beautiful, even if often wildly impractical.  But in the real world, I aspire to be stylish rather than fashionable – that is, choosing things that are flattering and putting together looks that are uniquely me.  This is more challenging than you’d think, and requires some practice.  When I first started paying attention to fashion it was more about buying trends or designers that I liked.  But, after a few mistakes or purchases that never really made it out of my closet, I’ve started to refine and get a better sense of my style.

Here’s an example of how I dress for work.  I have a safari dress from Elie Tahari that isn’t too different from the one below. These accessories are similar to ones I wear with it, and show how I style something classic for summer (left) or winter (right) to give a nod to some trends (like fur, espadrilles, wedges, and cuffs) without going overboard or wearing a lot of trends at once. I’m not sure how I’d describe my style, I would hope it’s a blend of chic and classic, with trendy thrown every once in a while for kicks! 🙂

Two seasons: Safari dress

Two seasons: Safari dress by CarrieJC featuring distressed boots

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2011 by in fashion and tagged , , , , , .
