found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

What’s in my closet?

If you read my last post, you know I’m getting on an organization kick.  The one place that didn’t need too much work was my closet.  The closet system I had installed usually keeps it neat and orderly which streamlines getting ready to go out and helps me see any gaps in my wardrobe.

Thought it would be fun to share a snapshot here, since given my love of fashion, it might be surprising because (1) it is really not that large – I have just the half of the closet pictured above, Jin has the other half not in view (off-screen left) and (2) while clearly I have a weakness for shoes and bags, beyond that, I don’t think I have that much more clothing than probably a lot of women.

Though I love to shop and browse, I actually try to put a lot of thought into something before I decide to buy and try to go for things that can help me multiply options with what I already have in my wardrobe versus trying to buy completely new “outfits”, which is a lot more expensive and limiting.

Besides not buying too much, I also try to review each season for things I haven’t worn in a while and might be able to either donate or consign.  I’ve also learned to take great care to maintain my favorite pieces so they last.  For example, spending $10 to get new toe taps and heels replaced now and then on a good pair of stilettos that I love is far better than buying new, cheaper ones every season.

I have shoes, jackets, handbags, and dresses that are over five years old but are still stylish and in excellent shape because of the quality materials and craftsmanship.  A few other tips that help things last:

  • leather protector spray (for shoes and leather bags)
  • regular seasonal wipe-downs with a damp cloth (shoes/bags)
  • dust covers for less frequently worn items
  • dry cleaning or tailoring at end of season as needed before putting in storage
  • darning and pill removal on clothes quarterly (before a snag or tear becomes irreparable)
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2011 by in fashion and tagged , , , , .
