found! not lost blog

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” ― Mary Oliver

A few tricks for your make-up bag

I don’t wear a lot of make-up, the main reason is I’m too lazy.  So, that’s why I haven’t posted much on beauty products.  However, I was thinking the other day of some secret weapons I’ve found that I never really share with anyone. But, it’s actually important, because if you don’t want to wear a lot of cosmetics, then you pretty much need to focus on getting your skin as nice and glow-y as possible so that you can be light-handed with the make-up. One of the products I love does exactly that.  It is the best for eradicating your dull, dry, flaky skin, and helps with pore-minimizing and hydrating.  My esthetician recommended it as a treatment to help with all of these things after I revealed to her that I don’t even exfoliate at home between facials (not a priority when I can barely get my hair dried some days before work!).  It’s the Retexturing Activator from SkinCeuticals, a serum that you apply in the AM and PM before moisturizer.  I’ve probably been using this for almost a year and the results are noticeable within 2 weeks.  The serum’s not cheap, usually $70 ($54 at time of this post on Amazon.com though!) but it lasts a long time and eliminates the need for tedious masks, scrubs, etc. plus it has really reduced the frequency of my facials, I used to go almost every other month (I used to have problem skin, prone to breakouts).  I love this product and do not know what I would do without it!

The other product I like is a multi-tasker that is hardly a hidden gem, it’s won lots of beauty product awards from the likes of InStyle and Allure magazines:  Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 20.  Retails for around $42 and is at Sephora as well as lots of high-end department stores like Nordstroms, Saks, etc.  I love this formula because it’s lightweight and not greasy (I have combination/oily skin) and the SPF is great for everyday.  Also, the coverage is enough that I can skip foundation but sheer enough to look super natural.

Eyebrows are a must, for some definition if you’re going more bare-faced so your eyes don’t disappear.  I used to be afraid to define my brows because I have black hair and didn’t want my brows to look too severe or get that weird drawn-on look.  But then I found a great brow pencil from Jouer that is waxy enough to stay put, soft enough to blend and look natural, and comes with a great brow brush on the opposite end so you can use to blend/smooth easily.  I also love the brand’s cream shadow in organza with black mascara for when I’m more dressy.

Lastly, a touch of tinted lip balm or sheer gloss is great for lips and sometimes I blend into my cheeks too, so I don’t look too washed out, but then I’m ready to go.  Super easy and paring back on make-up makes a fortuitous cycle of good skin because it lets your skin breathe which means fewer breakouts which means you need less make-up!

4 comments on “A few tricks for your make-up bag

  1. Jane
    December 19, 2010

    Ooh- thanks for the review on the Skinceuticals Retexturing serum. It was recommended to me at my last facial too but I didn’t get it…just ordered it on Amazon! Good tip 🙂

    • found not lost
      December 20, 2010

      Yay! I’m sure it’s because we both go to Spalon, right? I hope it works for you too, it’s been one of the best products I’ve tried for my skin, and I have tried a lot.

  2. Jane
    December 20, 2010

    I didn’t know you went to Spalon for facials. Who do you see? I LOVE Sabrina. She told me I should exfoliate at least twice(!) a week. Who has the time? I am lucky if I get in a shower a day 😦 Now I am on the hunt for a new moisturizer. I am using Kiehl’s right now which has been great but I think my skin is changing on me. My skin is PARCHED no matter how much I slather on.

  3. found not lost
    December 20, 2010

    Somer is who I go to, she’s really nice, said the same thing about exfoliating. Gave me a trick: use Phytomer peel mask in the shower, put on before you start, leave on while you wash, then rinse at very end, that way you kind of multi-task. That said, I actually haven’t been doing it as much since the serum works so well. For the moisturizer, I use a Phytomer cream and it’s pretty good, maybe ask about that one?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2010 by in shopping and tagged , , .
